Poems by a Fed-Up (but Otherwise Really Happy) Atheist

Like A Peasant In The Iron Age

As a Christian, I am proud to be as modern and as wise
As a peasant in the Iron Age. I think just like those guys!

God made the world. He runs it still. Such logic can’t be flawed.
It’s easy to explain the world: “It’s all because of God.”
God makes the mighty thunderclaps. That’s all I need to know.
God keeps the airplanes in the air. God makes the light bulbs glow.
God gives us cancer (who knows why!), then makes it go away.
I doubt it was the chemo. I bet it’s cuz we pray.
God keeps the earth in orbit. God makes the sky that hue.
God’s in that little magic shot that helps us fight the flu.
I never have to question why the tides go in and out –
“God does it!” is my answer. It’s so easy not to doubt!

Science builds on “evidence.” That makes me want to fight.
Won’t listen to another view! I won’t! (What if it’s right?)
If science contradicts my Book, then science must be wrong.
I won’t let stupid “facts” disturb the views I’ve held so long!
All the answers that I need are within my Bible’s covers.
It’d be the only school text if I could have my druthers.
I hardly think a scientist today could really know
More than what those peasants knew two thousand years ago!

They’re superstitious, super-stubborn, super-stupid – golly gee!
Those peasants in the Iron Age sure sound a lot like me!
In context and in history, though, the peasant’s much more wise.
He’d never heard of science. I’ve closed my mind and eyes.

Leave a Reply

